Daisy Letters

Posted on Updated on

Daisy Specimen from the Leo Grindon Collection

One of our volunteers, Priscilla, found this interesting daisy specimen in the Leo Grindon collection of cultivated plants.  It contains two letters from children who have written to him describing their interesting daisies:

“Board School, Waterhead, Oldham, 1 May 1896

Dear Sir, I send you a curious Daisy which my father found in the fields.  My teacher says you like wild flowers and will perhaps tell me about it some day in the City News.

I am respectfully yours, Rebecca Hershaw, Standard 5”

“Brookfield, Chorlton cum Hardy, 27th April

Dear Mr Grindon, I found this beautiful little daisy in our paddock today.  Mother said perhaps you would like to have it, as it seems so uncommon.  I hope it won’t be dead when you get it.

I am your little friend, Una Lucas

The shape as you see it, is exactly as I found it.  It is not crushed by the box.”

The specimen also contains an illustration from William Curtis’s Flora Londinensis, 1777-1789

Leave a Reply

